departure

Just started studying for the FAA Private Pilot test and wanted to have a place to store and share my notes, hence, this blog.

I was able to borrow the Jeppesen Private Pilot FAA airmen knowledge Test Guide (ISBN 0-88487-417-6, 2006 edition which is slightly different from the ISBN in the link) from our library. This is perhaps not the best way to study without being more familiar with the material. I’m starting out with near zero subject matter knowledge. For example, in Chapter 1, Section A of the test guide, Discovering Aviation, there are three paragraphs:

  1. Pilot Training
  2. The History of Flight
  3. The Training Process

Following that, there are four questions regarding the category and class of both airmen and aircraft. While the questions have the answers, references and reasons why the answers are correct, there is no mention of the topics of categories or classes of airmen or aircraft. Clearly, the test guide is not meant to be a training guide.

Much more study and notes to come. I’m focusing on the FAA test first and the memorization it requires so I can move on to ground school and air time. Found this post from Alan Feller on youtube which explains why:

How I scored a 97% on the FAA Private Pilot Exam on my first try